A food-filled vacation!

Hi, friends!

I am getting ready to leave on vacation.  Nothing puts me in a vacation mood faster than knowing I can eat whatever I want over the next few days!  Am I the only one who treats vacations as a “get out of food jail free”card?  Vacations should be a total experience right?  No space for salad without dressing!  No room for fruit as a snack!  While we’re traveling we said we’d only have one big meal a day and we’ll be good the rest of the time.  Umm… NO WAY is that happening!  I went to Costco.  If you’re going to snack on a road trip, snack in BULK!  That’s my motto! 🙂

Where are we going?  We are driving north from our house to Santa Rosa California and then coming back down the coast along Highway 101.  Being a lover of all things food, I mapped out specific eateries and fun food places along the way. Our first stop is the Jelly Belly Factory in Fairfield, CA.  I can’t wait to take a tour and bring back some root beer flavored jelly beans (They are my favorite!).  From there, we are off to Johnny Garlic’s in Santa Rosa, CA.  This is one of Guy Fieri’s restaurants. It’s on my bucket list to meet him someday.  Cross your fingers he is working that night.  Next stop? Beautiful San Francisco, CA!   San Francisco is a great place to eat!  Tommy’s Joynt, Zuni Cafe and Dottie’s Blue Moon Cafe are among the best.  I know we’ll be stopping at Fisherman’s Warf and bringing home some world-famous Boudin Sourdough.  Of course, no trip to SF would be complete without the tourist attractions of the Golden Gate Bridge, Lumbard Street and Ghirardelli’s!  After that, we’re spending time with family and dinner will be The Counter for burgers and fries!  Continuing down the coast, we may stop at Phil’s Fish Market in Moss Landing, CA for a Cioppino lunch! Sounds pretty amazing, right?  Are you drooling yet?  I am!!  Hey, don’t judge me, this is a FOOD blog after all!  🙂  From there, I am thinking Solvang, CA for crackers, cheese and danish pastries! Santa Barbara is less than an hour away and it is home to our favorite sports bar/pub Madisons!   Yum!  What a great five days!  I can’t wait to get started!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

What do you think?

