MaMaw’s Monsters – Cookie Recipe!

Happy Friday!

Today I am sharing my Grandma’s Monster Cookie recipe.  I was inspired by Stef from “Savory Sundays.” (Check out her blog at: http://savorysundays.wordpress.com/ She’s awesome!) Since she was the first person to leave a comment here on my blog, I told her I’d make her cookies.  She mentioned Monster Cookies, which happens to be one of our family favorites!  Thinking about them brought back fun memories. My older cousins always called Grandma “MaMaw.”  As babies “MaMaw” was easier to say.  I’m certain someone oohh’d and aahh’d and said “Oh, how cute!  The baby said Grandma. Say it again… say MaMaw!” Obviously, it stuck! At that time, my Grandparents and my Aunt and Uncle lived in Washington State.  Growing up in So. Cal, we didn’t see them very often. It was a rare treat when we got together.  In total, there were seven cousins (I am the baby. That probably explains a lot!)  I recall slumber parties in my Uncle’s basement with lots of sleeping bags, lots of giggles and not a lot of sleeping!  At Grandma’s house, we were ‘MaMaw’s Monsters.’ My grandfather was a Master Gardener so there were rows and rows of fresh vegetables right outside the back door. When MaMaw made dinner from the garden, my favorites were fresh corn and zucchini.  The fields in front of the house were full of wild blackberries. My cousins and I would have purple faces from eating ourselves silly in those fields.  Then, there were MaMaw’s cookies. Fabulous Monster Cookies!  Those were fun and delicious times!

This holiday weekend, why not share your cookie memories with your own little monsters?  (And their cousins–especially the youngest! She likes cookies!)

Be warned, this recipe makes huge quantities and requires a Kitchen Aid Mixer. Don’t use a hand mixer, it will fry the motor. Yes, that is experience talking! 😀 You can easily cut this recipe in half or quarters. If you make the recipe as directed you will have 16 dozen cookies.  You can also tweak it by adding raisins, taking out the nuts, replace the chocolate chips with toffee bits, whatever you like!  This is MaMaw’s original.  I hope you love them as much as we do!

MaMaw’s Monster Cookies

6 eggs

1 cup (two sticks) Butter

1 lb. Brown Sugar

2 cups Sugar

2 TBLS vanilla

28 oz Peanut Butter

4 tsp Baking Soda

9 cups Quaker Quick Oats

6 oz Chocolate Chips

1/2 lb. Candy Coated Chocolates (M&M’s)

1/2 lb. chopped walnuts

Heat oven to 350.

Using a stand mixer, combine butter, both sugars and the vanilla.  Beat in eggs, two at a time until fully incorporated.  Slowly mix in the rest of the ingredients.  Drop by rounded spoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 10 minutes, just till the tops turn golden brown.  Let the cookies cool on the pan for 10 minutes then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!

P.S. My daughter says the cookies are even better frozen!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  September 7, 2011

    Hey Sara….great Blog! I’m looking forward to more! and more great recipes too!
    Chef Nita

    Reply
  2. Wow, MaMaw cooked for an army, huh? 😉

    I love that this recipe is simple and straight-forward; but I’ll likely cut it into 1/8ths or so. (There’s only 2 of us in my local family…)

    Thank you for the callout on your blog – I really appreciate it! 🙂

    Stef

    Reply

What do you think?

