Pumpkin-ly Delicious!

Hi, friends!

Tonight I broke open the first jar (of the season) of Muirheads Pumpkin Pecan Butter.  Now, if you’ve never tried this stuff, you’ll have to believe me when I say it is pumpkin-ly delicious!  Seriously.  It’s amazing.  The ingredients are: pumpkin, sugar, lemon juice, pecans and spices.  That’s it!  You can use the Pumpkin Pecan Butter on toast, make pumpkin pancakes or pumpkin muffins but my hands-down favorite are the Pumpkin Dessert Squares.  As I am typing this, the fresh smell of pumpkin, cinnamon and sugar are floating from my kitchen. The squares are in the oven right now.  This should show you how much I love these!  I can’t even wait until they are done baking to share them with you.

Here is the recipe, courtesy of Williams-Sonoma and Muirhead foods:

Pumpkin Dessert Squares

1 box yellow cake mix

1 Jar Muirhead Pumpkin Pecan Butter

3 eggs

1 TBLS flour

1/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup butter, divided

3 TBLS milk

1 tsp Cinnamon

Heat oven to 350.

Reserve 1 cup of the cake mix and set aside.

Mix remaining cake mix with 1/2 cup of melted butter and 1 egg.  Press mixture lightly into the bottom of a 13 x 9 inch pan.

Mix 1 jar Muirhead Pumpkin Pecan Butter with 2 large eggs and 3 TBLS milk.  Pour over cake mixture crust in pan.

Mix to a crumble, the reserved cup of cake mix, 1 TBLS flour, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/4 cup soft butter and 1 tsp cinnamon.  Crumble over the top of the pumpkin layer.

Bake 35-40 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden.  Cool and serve!

My Imperfect Kitchen Notes:  When I make this, I use a 9 x 9 pan and bake it for about 50 – 55 minutes.  They are thicker that way.  I also swap the Cinnamon with 1 tsp of Pumpkin Pie Spice Mix.  If you are a pumpkin lover, here is a delightful list of other recipes that use Muirheads Pumpkin Pecan Butter:

http://www.muirheadfoods.com/pecan_pumpkin_butter_recipes.shtml

Happy (almost) Fall!  Enjoy these Pumpkin-ly delicious dessert squares!  I know I will!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

What do you think?

