Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Cookies make me happy. It doesn’t matter what kind. I am an equal-opportunity cookie lover!

I should probably change my profile picture. Stick a Chef hat on him and it’s ME!

That being said, I had some ingredients in my pantry that were just screaming to be made into cookies this weekend.

There was a little bit of oatmeal from breakfast this week.

Half a bag of coconut from Coconut Macaroons a few weeks ago. (Which reminds me, I should post THAT recipe too! Those were good!)

Raisins from… I don’t know what the raisins were from. In all honesty, they were probably in the pantry because I said “OH! I want to make XYZ with raisins this week! I’ll get them at the grocery!” and they’ve sat because I forgot what I was going to do with them. Maybe, they were waiting for these cookies!

So I threw those things together with a little butter, sugar, flour and eggs and viola!

Ready for the oven!

They didn’t spread as much as I would have liked, but they were still fantastic!

Make them yourself and see what you think!

Coconut Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

2 sticks butter, softened
3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
pinch of salt (optional)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
2 cups old-fashioned, uncooked oats (I used Quaker Oats)
1 cup raisins
1 cup unsweetened coconut

Heat oven to 350 degrees

Beat the butter and sugars together in the bowl of your electric mixer until smooth and creamy. About 3-5 minutes.

Add eggs and vanilla. Beat for another two minutes.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt (if using) cinnamon, and nutmeg. Mix well. Add this to your sugar and egg mixture a little at a time until well combined.

Add oats, raisins and coconut, mixing well. The dough will be very thick.

Drop dough by rounded teaspoons onto a parchment covered baking sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes until light golden brown. Cool on a wire rack before storing them.

My next post is about cookies too! Yep, better change the picture.

Enjoy!!

XOXOX

Sara

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. These look just wonderful. ‘C is for Cookies, Good Enough For Jen’ is often my motto 😉

    Reply

What do you think?

