The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap

Food Blogger Cookie Swap!

It’s time for The Great Food Bloggers Cookie Swap! Last year, I missed the deadline by a few days, so my cookie-loving self was excited to be on board this year. You can get all the details about this sweet event here!!

OXO even sent this cute spatulas for participating!
OXO Spatula

In support of Cookies for Kids Cancer, I was blessed to bake a dozen cookies for three great bloggers! Hi, Veronique, Sarah and Christy! I hope your packages made it safely! I must apologize to these lovely ladies though. After I sent their cookies, I found the Holiday cards I was going to include! They had no idea who their cookies came from. Epic FAIL on my part. 😦 At least, I had fun making cookies for them!

I sent them all Peppermint Rings!
Peppermint Cookie Rings!

Peppermint Rings

Ingredients:
1/3 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 egg plus one yolk
1 TBLS milk
1/2 tsp peppermint extract
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
10 drops red food coloring
1 egg white, beaten
Coarse Sanding Sugar

Directions:
In a large bowl, beat butter and shorting together. Add sugar, salt and baking powder. Beat until combined, scraping down the bowl occasionally. Add egg, yolk, milk and the extracts. Continue to beat for one minute until smooth. Dump all the flour in at once and beat on low-speed until all the flour is combined with the dough.

Divide the dough into two equal portions. Add red food coloring to one portion, blending in with your hands until dough is the color you want it and there are no large blotches. Shape both dough portions into discs, cover and chill for at least and hour.

Pre-heat oven to 375 F.

On a lightly floured surface, roll out each dough portion into about a 12 inch log. Pinch dough into small balls, about a tablespoon size each. You’ll need 144 balls of each color.
On a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper arrange the dough, using four balls of each color, into a ring. The balls should barely touch each other, as the dough will expand as they bake. Brush each ring with egg white and sprinkle with sugar before baking.

Bake about 8 minutes or until the cookies are set, but not brown! Transfer cookies carefully to a wire rack and let them cool!

You can also roll the dough into thin ropes and twist to make candy canes or wreaths!

Enjoy!

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. ADORABLE cookies, Sweetie! Next year, I’m totally rigging the swap so that I can get cookies from YOU! 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love these! They are definitely adorable! My mom and I used to make something similar to these, but formed them into candy canes. I like the wreaths, though! So cute! 🙂

    Reply

What do you think?

