• Tasty Tweets!

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9,791 other subscribers

The Potato Taco Quest!

Every day I learn new things about the wonderful world of food!  Potato Tacos are my newest discovery!  My vegetarian daughter challenged me to turn Taco Tuesday into Potato Taco Tuesday – just for her.   Now, I have to admit, my first thought was potatoes…  in a taco…?  Really?

So I did a bit of research.

Tacos de Papa is a real thing!  No, really!  Stop laughing at me.  IMPERFECT Kitchen, remember?  I don’t know it all (yet).  I can honestly say, I’ve never had a potato taco in my whole life – and that’s a pretty long time!  I love fish tacos, but potato tacos? Here is a picture I found at www.thekitchn.com.   Doesn’t it look good?

After reading all the different recipes and variations online, I feel cheated!  I need to have a potato taco!  I need to MAKE a potato taco.  But first, I need a recipe.  Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Anonymous

     /  October 10, 2011

    That’s what we called poor man’s taco’s, when we didn’t have meat,we used potatoes as a filler. Diced potatoes, boiled in salted water, then use masher but gently, you want some chunks and lumps, add pepper, bit of butter not too much.
    You can put cheese, queso fresco, sour cream, chopped up red onions, cilantro, white onions, avocado’s,diced jalapeno’s,diced radishes…….Endless possibilities

    Reply
  2. or you can use soyrizo instead of chorizo which is AWESOME!! same taste but no burning feeling after 😉

    Reply
    • Kim Gilmore

       /  October 17, 2011

      I love soyrizo!!! Not a vegetarian any more but still use that when I see it.

      Reply
  3. You can make these without the chorizo 🙂 Use fake meat and I’ll bet they will still be delicious!

    Reply

What do you think?