• Tasty Tweets!

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9,791 other subscribers

Guest Post: Roasted Eggplant Hummus from This American Bite

Hi foodies! Let me introduce you to Yosef! Yosef is the author of the blog “This American Bite.His post has been patiently waiting in my inbox while I’ve been distracted with life and work! With my sincere apologies to Yosef for not getting this to you sooner, I think you will find it has been MORE than worth the wait! This recipe looks fantastic and I can’t wait to try it! Without further delay, here’s Yosef and his Roasted Eggplant Hummus…

Let me share a little secret with you, a confession, a little part of me that I have never said out loud. I have an unhealthy relationship with making hummus. Once a week, I soak my chickpeas, roast my garlic and set about making this staple for our home, but each and every week, I second guess myself and wonder if I will enjoy it.
I always do!
Last night was no different. Chickpeas had been soaking for 24 hours, garlic was roasted, then re-roasted as I burned it all while grilling a brisket (by the way, charred garlic makes a delicious snack!) and as I moved an eggplant to make space for the food processor, it felt a little soft and needed to be used. One eggplant doesn’t go all that far when you’re cooking for 12 and the five years I spent living in Israel kicked in to gear.
Hummus is good. Babaganush (or chatzilim) is good. Roasted Eggplant Hummus had to be good, and let me tell you, it is.
• 1 lb bag of Chickpeas
• 3 – 4 cloves of garlic, roasted in olive oil
• 1 tablespoon of lemon juice , more to taste
• 1 Tablespoon Tahini
• Salt
• Extra Virgin Olive Oil
• Water
• Cumin
• Paprika
You can use canned chickpeas for this recipe; I prefer to use dry beans and pulses wherever possible. To cook the perfect chickpea, I use a shallow Le Creuset pot and bring water to a boil. Then I add the chickpeas, make sure there is enough water to cover the chickpeas, return to a boil then cover and turn off the heat. Allow them to sit until they are cool enough to touch.
Dice your eggplant, sprinkle salt and allow to sweat for 30 minutes. Then put the eggplant on a cookie sheet, drizzle with cumin and olive oil and roast at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes.
Put your chick peas in the food processor along with the garlic and the oil in which it was roasted. Add the rest of the ingredients, and for a little extra lemony flavor, add some lemon zest too. Let the food processor get to work, and taste along the way.
For a thinner hummus, add more water. For a nuttier flavor add some extra virgin olive oil. Serve with warm pita bread, or use as a bed for ground beef or sautéed mushrooms.

Living in Overland Park, KS, Yosef is a husband, father and a passionate cook. As a card-carrying foodie and an active “Weight Watcher”, Yosef loves to create in the kitchen with a keen eye on healthy, organic and local ingredients.  You can follow This American Bite on Twitter, Facebook, Online or by downloading the Android App for more home-cooked dinners. 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Roasted Eggplant Hummus | Food for Foodies by This American Bite

What do you think?