• Tasty Tweets!

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 9,791 other subscribers

What a hot mess of momma tears can lead to…

Remember when my baby graduated from High School last month? (Oh my gosh! It’s already been ‘last month’ Gahhh!)

I was a hot mess of Momma tears! Remember?

Sometimes you do crazy things when you’re a hot mess of Momma tears. It’s true!

What did I do? I came home from Evans graduation and logged on to my laptop.

No, that’s not the crazy part!

The crazy part was filling out an application for a new cooking show. ME? On a cooking show? Get serious! Yeah, well, my “hot mess of Momma tears” thought differently and before I knew it, I’d applied. It was purely emotional! I was wondering “what now?” for this next portion of my life. We’d spent so many years raising kids and getting them all through school… It was crazy to even think of applying, but I did it.

Of course, I also dismissed it, knowing full well they’d see my photo and toss the application into the trash.

Funny how the universe works though, when you throw something out there on a whim, sometimes it comes back to you!

I got an E-mail less than a week later inviting me to an open call audition. Yep, I’m sure they invited everyone who applied. I’m not that special! Regardless, I spent the next 10 days FREAKING OUT over what to make, what to wear, what to expect and wondering what the HELL I was thinking! I almost didn’t go… but I knew if I didn’t, I’d regret it for the rest of my life.

While I can’t tell you much of anything else, I can share with you that I did NOT make it to the next step. I am more than fine with this because I had THE BEST TIME!! Coming from someone who struggles with occasional panic attacks, just going to the audition was a MAJOR step for me! The people I met were awesome! I wish we’d exchanged info because we could totally hang out and talk food! There were people from San Francisco, San Diego, Arizona and of course, Los Angeles. We had no kitchen to prep food, so we had to bring everything already made. There were people with Hibachi grills in the parking lot so their food would be fresh! Now THAT is dedication! The group I was in had FUN! To keep ourselves entertained, we did the wave while we were sitting in line. We laughed! We teased each other about stupid things. We encouraged each other. Honestly, that was the best part. I was blown away that people I met just hours before were standing next to each other, encouraging and being positive about each others food! We were the only crazy, outgoing group. A bunch of BIG personalities, that’s for sure! Maybe that’s why we weren’t chosen? I don’t know and it truly doesn’t matter. It was a fantastic experience, a great story and a wonderful memory!

So what DID I take away from this experience? I brought home a renewed passion for my blog and cooking! I know exactly what I want to share! (Changes are coming my friends!)

I have to tell you, being in an audition/theatre atmosphere again was fun! It brought back memories of the years I spent performing. I miss it! I miss the person I was when I was on stage.

It’s strangely awkward going from being a performer to being a grossly overweight mom dealing with panic attacks and life issues. Through the years I’ve lost that part of myself. Now, you can wonder “Sara, how do you deal with people all day long, be upbeat and happy, and still deal with panic attacks?” It happens friends. I’ll share more about that in another post.

I am SO PROUD OF MYSELF for getting out there again. I want to spend this part of my life experiencing LIFE! I’m so excited to see what the future holds! Let the adventures begin!

So while I didn’t make it to the next level of this cooking show, I did make it to the next level of rediscovering myself and that means more than anything else!

How about you? What have you done on a whim that turned into a great experience? I’d love to hear about it!

Till next time foodie friends,

xoxox ~ Sara

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I am so proud of you, Sara! This calls for a major cookie celebration: ) What an incredible adventure…would love to sit down over a cup of coffee and here much more! xoxo

    Reply
  2. Changes, huh??? I can’t wait to see what’s coming! I’m not much a whim person, except when I’m in my kitchen cooking, but I will say that my best “on the whim” moment was falling in love with my husband and getting engaged after only 4 months. Is that considered a whim? Ha!

    Reply
    • I don’t think engaged after four months is a whim. You obviously knew it was right for you!! Plus look at the gorgeous little people you have because of it? 🙂

      Reply
  3. Wow! That is pretty awesome that you even went for the audition! I would be totally hyperventilating before I even left the house (trust me, I tanked my very first audition to join a choir LOL). SO, big props to you for trying out, regardless of the outcome. Most importantly, glad you had a ball and met some lovely people 🙂

    Reply

What do you think?